Pyrotechnic Release Device

My high altitude balloon needed a reliable and lightweight device to release the balloon in the case it remained neutrally buoyant.

I saw some implementations with a nichrome wire (melting the rope), but I don’t like it: too much current, big MOSFET, another battery pack. And let’s say it: not enough spectacular, and dangerous ;) So I decided to make my own pyrotechnic device.

Pyro1 Pyro2

For the fuse I used a very thin wire from a regular kitchen steel wool. With just 200mA it start to melt and burn. I put the fuse in one end of a plastic tube (from a ball-pen tank) and  just a wire loop in the other. And YES!… black powder in the middle. Guaranteed an spectacular balloon release with very little power!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

